Class Notes: A. Spring 2022


David Kraebber (MD ’81) became the 86th president of the Southeastern Section of the American Urological Association.

Donald Brannan (MD ’82) was featured on Becker’s list of 10 Gastroenterologists to Know.

Lynda Goodfellow (BS ’82) joined the American Association for Respiratory Care as the new Director of Clinical Practice Guideline Development.

Martha Tingen (MSN ’83) was featured on WJBF regarding a state grant for suicide prevention.

Edward Chin (MD ’84) is the recipient of the 2021 Laureate Award from the Georgia Chapter of the American College of Physicians.

Ronald Cobb (PhD ’86) was appointed as Head of Science and Discovery for Blue Water Vaccines, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company.

Daniel Purdom (MD ’88) was appointed service chief for Geriatrics, Extended Care and Rehabilitation at the Kansas City Veterans Administration Center. He continues his academic appointment at the University of Missouri, Kansas City School of Medicine.


Phillip Coule (BS ’92, MD ’96) was featured on RocketNews in regards to the number of cases of COVID-19 in Georgia.

Jeff Capes (DMD ’93) has opened a second office in St. Marys, Ga. for his practice, Coastal Oral Surgery, while his first office remains on St. Simon’s Island.

Susana Alfonso (MD ’96) was inaugurated by the Georgia Academy of Family Physicians during its annual continuing medical education meeting at the Avalon Hotel in Alpharetta, Ga.

Garnett Johnson (BBA ’98) joined the race for Augusta mayor.

Christopher Shaffer (MEd ’98) recently published his memoir, “Moon over Sasova,” about his time teaching English in post-communist and newly independent Slovakia.


Andy Eberheart (BS ’05) was selected to the USA Swimming medical staff for the summer Olympics.

Larry Willis Miles, Jr. (DMD ’05) was named to the Georgia Board of Dentistry by Gov. Brian Kemp.

Katherine Van Loon (MD ’06) was highlighted in The ASCO Post as a pioneer in global oncology.

Natasha Savage (MD ’07) has been named Interim Senior Associate Dean for GME at MCG.

Kajuana Farrey Sutton (DMD ’09) was recently honored by the Lucy Hobbs Project in Dentistry.


Vicki Knox (EdS ’10) was named Richmond County School System’s Teacher of the Year.

Michelle Naval (BA ’10) was recently announced as the new Chief Executive Officer for the Augusta Sports Council’s Board of Directors.

Henrik Norlander (BBA ’11) represented Sweden in the Olympic Men’s Golf Competition.

Catherine Hardy (BA ’13, MPA ’18) was presented in the Leadership Augusta Class of 2022 by the Augusta Metro Chamber of Commerce.

Caleb Mellinger (DPT ’14) gave an insight into his life and experiences as a DPT on The Student Doctor Network.

Tony Hambrick (BA ’15) was a contestant on NBC’s The Voice.

Jasmine Garcia (BA ’18) was recently awarded a 2021 Southeast Regional Emmy for an investigative news piece.


Jessika Douglas (MPA ’20) joined the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services, Children and Adults Health Programs Group, Division of Enrollment Policy & Operations as a Social Science Research Analyst.

Cody Baker (DMD ’21) joined Gilreath Family Dentistry in Marietta, Ga.

Achievements by Former Fellows, Residents and Interns

April Hartman was named the new Dorothy A. Hahn, MD, Endowed Chair in the Department of Pediatrics at the Medical College of Georgia.

Martin Salgueiro has joined High Plains Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.

Brian Miller was featured in Psychiatric Times in regards to his research surrounding childhood ADHD.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Readers’ Picks

For nearly 200 years, Augusta University and its legacy institutions have been centers of learning and drivers of discovery and innovation in Augusta, the state of Georgia and beyond. Our community of alumni, students, faculty and friends are amazing people living incredible lives and making invaluable contributions to our world.

We are pleased to publish four magazines in which we get to tell their stories: